Story behind the photo – Gorging Proboscis

Gorging proboscis

Story behind the photo – Gorging proboscis

When I travelled around Malaysian Borneo last summer, I took an X-Pro1, X100s, plus the 14mm f2.8, 35mm f1.4 and 60mm f2.4. The reason for this ultra light kit was that this was my first opportunity with the Fujifilm X-Series. I hadn’t had a chance to become smitten with the system yet and so as a result I also had a 5D3, 24-70mm f2.8 and 70-200mm f2.8. I didn’t want to carry anymore equipment as this was plenty enough to be travelling with especially due to numerous internal flights and lightweight boat trips that had limiting weight restrictions. 

This meant that the longest lens I had for the X-Pro1 was the 60mm f2.4. I was still able to get a surprisingly large amount of wildlife shots with the Fujifilm system. Such as this gorging proboscis monkey taken at Bako National Park. With a bit of patience and awareness of the monkey’s behaviour I was able to get very close, while it stuffed its face with leaves. 

It is widely known that the 60mm f2.4 isn’t the fastest focusing lens (in fact its the slowest in the Fujifilm range) but once you get used to this, you do quickly adapt. When focused, it is wonderfully sharp, even wide open (this shot was taken at f2.8).

I’ll upload a few macro shots I have taken with it soon. 

If I was to go back now with the likes of the X-T1, 56mm f1.2 and 55-200mm (let alone the f2.8 zooms coming out later in the year) then I’d expect a big jump in the number of wildlife shots. 

Leave a Reply

